Writers Center Stage

Individual show tickets and Series subscription packages are on sale now! Purchase your tickets online or by calling 216.368.5681.

Buy Tickets
The William N. Skirball Writers Center Stage Series brings the literary world’s best writers to Cleveland. Each show is followed by a Q&A and book signing. All shows will be held at 7:30 p.m. in Case Western Reserve University’s Tinkham Veale University Center located at 11038 Bellflower Road, Cleveland, 44106, northwest of the Kelvin Smith Library.

Our exciting 2015-2016 season events feature...

author photo by David Morris; link to author facebook pageSarah Koenig & Julie Snyder

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

The 2015-2016 William N. Skirball Writers Center Stage Series opens with Sarah Koenig and Julie Snyder, producers of the public radio program This American Life (TAL) and co-creators of the true crime podcast, Serial. Since its debut in October 2014, Serial has been downloaded more than 60 million times, making it the most listened-to podcast in history.
Before joining TAL in 2004, Sarah Koenig reported on criminal justice and politics for New Hampshire’s Concord Monitor and The Baltimore Sun. She has produced and reported some of TAL’s most popular shows, including “Habeas Schmabeas,” a Peabody Award-winning show about Guantanamo Bay.
Since 1997, Julie Snyder has produced many of TAL’s most memorable and ambitious programs, including coverage of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, health care reform and urban violence in Chicago. Her work with TAL host Ira Glass has garnered four Peabody Awards. Currently Koenig and Snyder are hard at work on the second season of Serial.
  « SERIAL Pre-Show Reception Opportunity HERE! »
Tickets to the Koenig/Snyder show are sold out; however, tickets to the pre-show reception are still available!

author biographyEdwidge Danticat

Monday, March 21, 2016

Haitian-American author Edwidge Danticat’s writing focuses on themes of national identity, mother-daughter relationships and politics. Her works include the novel The Farming of Bones, for which she received the American Book Award; The Dew Breaker, for which she received a 2005 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award; and the memoir, Brother, I’m Dying; a 2007 National Book Critics Circle Award winner. Her most recent novel, Claire of the Sea Light, was shortlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction.

Lehane websiteRick Bragg

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Pulitzer Prize winning writer Rick Bragg has published eight acclaimed works of nonfiction, including a trio of bestselling memoirs about his family in Alabama – All Over But the Shoutin’, Ava’s Man and The Prince of Frogtown. As a journalist, he has covered everything from the Oklahoma City bombing to the national controversy surrounding the immigration of Elian Gonzalez. Bragg teaches writing in the University of Alabama’s Department of Journalism.  The Chicago Tribune called his latest biography, Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story, “epic southern storytelling at its most gripping.”

author photo by David Morris; link to author facebook pageNeil Gaiman

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

British author Neil Gaiman is one of the most celebrated writers of our time and a passionate advocate for libraries. He is best known for his fantasy novels, including American Gods and Coraline, both of which won the Hugo, Nebula, Bram Stoker and Locus awards; The Graveyard Book, for which he won the Newbery (US) and Carnegie (UK) medals; and The Ocean at the End of the Lane, for which we won a 2013 National Book Award for Best British Book of the Year. Gaiman’s latest is a collection of short stories entitled Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances. Sorry!  This event is sold out.

author website

Gillian Flynn

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Gillian Flynn is best known for the novel Gone Girl, an international sensation that spent more than 100 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and is now a major motion picture from Twentieth Century Fox. Her other works include the bestsellers Sharp Objects, which was an Edgar Award finalist and winner of two Dagger Awards (UK), and Dark Places, a Publisher’s Weekly Best Book of 2009. Flynn is a former writer and critic for Entertainment Weekly.

author photo by Elena Seiber; link to author websiteRoz Chast

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Roz Chasts brilliant cartoons have graced the pages of The New Yorker, Harvard Business Review, and Mother Jones for more than 30 years. To date she has published nine compilations of her work, including the retrospective Theories of Everything: Selected, Collected and Health-Inspected Cartoons; bestselling children’s books, including The Alphabet from A to Y with Bonus Letter Z (with comedian Steve Martin); and the acclaimed memoir Can’t We Talk about Something More Pleasant?, which was a National Book Award finalist and the first graphic novel to win the National Book Critics Circle Award.


2015-16 William N. Skirball Writers Center Stage Series Subscription Packages

SERIAL Pre-Show Reception 

Individual tickets are available to meet Serial co-creators Sarah Koenig and Julie Snyder on Wednesday, September 9th at 5:30 p.m. in the Senior Classroom (Room 134) on the first level of the Tinkham Veale University Center. Cocktails and light hors d’oeuvres will be served. Tickets will be sold for $30 each on a first-come, first-served basis to the first 75 people. Reception tickets do not include seating for the author show at 7:30 p.m.   Visit case.edu to purchase tickets.  

Benefactor Level Subscription – $250.00

  • PREMIUM seating at all 6 shows
  • Free parking in the CWRU Campus Center Garage Lot S-29 adjacent to Severance Hall with direct, weather-protected access to the Tinkham Veale University Center
  • Admission to an exclusive event during the season

Subscriber Level – $150.00

  • PREFERRED seating at all 6 shows
We encourage SUBSCRIBERS to increase their support to the BENEFACTOR level. The BENEFACTOR subscription package offers the best value for customers who plan to attend every show.
Buy Tickets Now

The 2015-16 William N. Skirball Writers Center Stage Series is presented by the Cuyahoga County Public Library Foundation and its academic partner Case Western Reserve University. Funds raised by this series help support Cuyahoga County Public Library, the nation’s top-rated library system for six consecutive years.

Sponsorship and advertising opportunities are available. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the William N. Skirball Writers Center Stage Series or placing an ad in our season program, please email us at foundation@cuyahogalibrary.org.

Read about The FoundationCWRU logo and link to website