We offer sensory and adapted programming for all ages. Our collection includes toys for special needs children that are safe, sturdy and clean. 

Our goal is to assist and accommodate guests with sensory processing needs. Social stories are available for our Middleburg Heights and Solon branches.


PROGRAMS

Adapted Storytimes

Children with caregiver
Children with varying learning styles and abilities will learn together in a safe, supportive environment where respect and appreciation for differences is encouraged.

MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS BRANCH
Sat, Mar 28 / 11 AM
Sat, Apr 25 / 11 AM
 
NORTH ROYALTON BRANCH
Sat, Apr 4 / 10 AM
 
PARMA BRANCH
Sat, Mar 14 / 11 AM
Sat, May 23 / 11 AM

SOLON BRANCH
Sat, Feb 15 / 10:30 AM
Sat, Mar 14 / 10:30 AM

Sat, Apr 11 / 10:30 AM

SOUTHEAST BRANCH
Sat, Apr 25 / 10:30 AM


Adapted Sense & Play

Ages birth – 6 years with families
This adapted playgroup is safe and welcoming for children with varying learning styles and abilities. Meet other families and experience a wide variety of developmentally appropriate toys with your child.
 
SOUTHEAST BRANCH
Sat, May 23 / 10:30 AM


Library for All: Adapted Adult Programs

Enjoy fun adapted programs featuring stories, art and music, specifically designed for adults with developmental disabilities and their caregivers.
 
BAY VILLAGE BRANCH
Tue, Mar 10 / 6 PM
Tue, Apr 14 / 6 PM
Tue, May 12 / 6 PM


P.A.L.S. Big-Screen Sensory-Friendly Movie

All ages
The sound is lower, the lights are brighter and talking, singing and moving are perfectly acceptable! These sensory-friendly events are great for movie lovers on the autism spectrum and/or with special needs as well as anyone who prefers this type of experience.
 
PARMA-SNOW BRANCH
The Princess and the Frog (PG)
Mon, Feb 17 / 11 AM – 1 PM
Toy Story 4 (PG)
Mon, Mar 23 / 11 AM – 1 PM
Trolls (PG)
Mon, Apr 13/ 11 AM – 1 PM
Dora and the Lost City of Gold (PG)
Sat, May 23 / 11 AM – 1 PM


P.A.L.S. Monthly Meetup

Adults of all abilities
Experience the therapeutic benefits of coloring.
 
PARMA-SNOW BRANCH
Coloring club
Thu, Feb 13 / 6 PM
Volunteer project
Thu, Mar 13 / 6 PM
Game night
Thu, Apr 9 / 6 PM
Movie night – School of Rock
Thu, May 14 / 6 PM


PROGRAMS IN PARTNERSHIP WITH CONNECTING FOR KIDS

Register at connectingforkids.org/register or by calling 440.570.5908.
 

Defiant & Difficult Behavior

Families of elementary-age children
Jay Berk, PhD, will discuss the possible causes of difficult behaviors. He will also provide strategies you can use to combat defiant and difficult behaviors.
 
PARMA-SNOW BRANCH
Tue, May 5 / 6:30 PM


Elementary Experiences

Ages 7 – 12 with caregiver
Through role plays and activities, learn strategies for handling worry.
 
MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS BRANCH
Sat, May 16 / 1 PM or 2:30 PM


How to Apply for Grants for Children With Special Needs

Families
The Cuyahoga County Board of Developmental Disabilities, Zane’s Inc. and Ohio Family 2 Family will discuss obtaining financial support for therapies, camps and equipment.
 
SOLON BRANCH
Sat, Feb 29 / 1 PM


Less Screaming, More Talking

A social work will teach you exercises to help identify communication styles, improve listening and manage conflicts. You’ll also learn about reacting vs responding.

MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS BRANCH
Ages 7 – 9 with caregiver
Sat, Feb 22 / 1 PM
 
MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS BRANCH
Ages 10 – 12 with caregiver
Sat, Feb 22 / 2:30 PM


Music Therapy & More

Ages birth – 6 years with families
Children who are struggling in an area of development will use music to improve their motor skills, communication, social skills and behavior.

MIDDLEBURG HEIGHTS BRANCH
Sat, Feb 22 / 10:30 AM
Sat, Mar 21 / 10:30 AM
Sat, Apr 18 / 10:30 AM
Sat, May 16 / 10:30 AM

SOLON BRANCH
Fri, Mar 27 / 10:30 AM
Fri, Apr 24/ 10:30 AM
Fri, May 22 / 10:30 AM


Play & Say

Ages birth – 6 years with families
This adapted playgroup is safe and welcoming for families who have concerns about their child. Learn new skills, meet other families and connect to community resources to help your child.
 
SOLON BRANCH
Fri, Feb 28 / 10:30 AM


Sensory Consults

Ages 18 months – 12 years
Sign up for a 15-minute time slot to meet with a pediatric occupational therapist. Your child will engage in some activities while you complete a checklist. Also, learn strategies to use at home.

SOLON BRANCH
Wed, May 13 / 6:30 – 8 PM


Teach Me to Play

Ages 18 months – 6 years who are struggling in an area of development
Connect with other families in a supportive and accepting environment. Children will practice speech and social skills through play, and families can interact with an intervention specialist.
 
SOLON BRANCH
Fri, Mar 6 / 10:30 AM
Fri, Apr 3 / 10:30 AM
Fri, May 8 / 10:30 AM


BookFlix.png